Uncategorized

Types of People you meet on Facebook Marketplace

Last Summer I spent a lot of time selling things on Facebook marketplace. It was almost a full-time job. You have to snap pictures and put in a decent description. And as a best practice, you also need to include your general location because people just don’t pay attention to where they are searching.

I also replicated my efforts on OfferUp, which is the old LetGo, just more craptastic. Anyway, the point is, you meet a lot of interesting people who seem to fall into certain buckets.

Will You Take…

I know you’re selling this $500 item for less than ten percent, but will you take $20?

I’ll gladly pay you Tuesday….

Buyer: is this available?
Me: yes
Buyer: I’ll take it, address
Me: sends address

Buyer: okay I cannot get it until next Tuesday (It’s Thursday)

Do you take Venmo?

For a $5 item? Really?


Just in case you’re an Ax Murderer

Buyer: I’m sending my boyfriend, who doesn’t have a smartphone to pick it up. He has a dark-colored vehicle of some type.


I didn’t read the description

Buyer: Hi, I’m interested.
Me: great when can you come get it
them: where is address
me: tells them (chicago)

Them: Oh, I’m in Rockford, Il Sorry.

But I think my favorite is…

Just Checking:

Buyer: Hi is this available?
Me: Yes
Buyer: Crickets

In all honestly, I did sell a lot of stuff and made a little cash on it. A lot of stuff was also given away for free and that brings about another class of people I might write about in the future.

Stay Tuned.

****************

Like me, you probably dislike all of the ads on this page. They pop up unexpectedly, sometimes cover text, start playing videos and clutter the post itself. We bloggers have no control over any aspect of the ads (content, form, placement, etc). I am sorry that they have taken over our blogs on ChicagoNow and appreciate your continued support.

Follow Mysteries of Life on Twitter (@MysteriesOLife), Facebook or subscribe via email.

Standard

Leave a comment